Select Page

Help Center   ›   Auto-sync playlist updates to Apple Music

Auto-sync playlist updates to Apple Music

Written by Louis V.

Written by Louis V.

Updated over a week ago

Since Saturday, 25th August 2018, Apple Music have downgraded their sync technology, actively blocking full playlist updatesThe new version only allows semi-updates: 

  • new tracks will appear at the end of the Apple Music playlist
  • removed tracks are not removed in the Apple Music playlist
  • re-ordered tracks are not re-ordered in the Apple Music playlist

These feature might come back only next year – they said.

As a result, when you activate Auto-Sync from Spotify to Apple Music (for instance), your tracks re-orders and removals will not be reflected in Apple Music. At least, new tracks added in Spotify will be successfully added on Apple Music (at the end of the tracklist).

If this lower-quality Auto Sync feature does not suit you, you can still disable Auto Sync and follow this tutorial to manually sync your full playlists updates on Apple Music.

NOTE: Auto-Sync from Apple Music to Spotify (or to any streaming service) still works great though! For those of you who are used to update playlists via Apple Music, you will not be impacted by Apple Music decision.